Partner Awards

Bender Leadership Academy encourages students and alumni to become disability advocates and thoughtful citizens through civic leadership.

Educator of the Year
Ruth Briceland Educator of the year 2022

The Educator of the Year winner goes to an educator who goes above and beyond in helping students with disabilities in a Bender Leadership Program.

2022 Educator of the Year

Ruth Briceland
Beaver Area School District
Transition Coordinator (Retired)

Alan Crawford

2021 Educator of the Year

Alan Crawford
Start On Success Instructor
Special Education Department
Brashear High School – Pittsburgh, PA

Pioneer Award
Stacie Dojonovic

The Pioneer Award winner goes to an educator, company, volunteer, or an employee who has contributed to Bender Leadership Academy success for over ten years.

2022 Pioneer Award

Stacie Dojonovic
Transition Coordinator
Fox Chapel School District

Dionna Harris

2021 Pioneer Award

Dionna Harris
Guidance Counselor
Networks School for Employability
Christina School District, Newark, DE